A new mac pro in 2008?

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
My hometown got it's own Apple Store last week. After using a PC for near 20 years I am really keen to buy a Mac Pro for video and photo work. However, as the current mac pro was released in April this year, is it likely a new model / new intel chips will be released in 2008?

Many thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 42
    drboardrboar Posts: 477member
    The thread "Apple to fire up Penryn-based Mac Pros" will tell you more than you ever want to now about what macnerds thinks.

The short of it is that the macpro is long over due to be updated so play the waiting game and get the next generation.
  • Reply 2 of 42
    onlookeronlooker Posts: 5,252member
    I've been saying to this forum for 5 months, or longer, that the next (all new) Mac Pro will be released at MWSF in January. Almost everybody else seemed to think it would be released in November, but that date has come and gone, and I think we are now almost all in agreement that is is going to be at MacWorld in January. I really don't think Apple will wait any longer. If they didn't release it January it would surely be by March, because I just can not see them holding out until WWDC in August, or whenever it is next year. But I am sticking with my original statement, and assumption that it will be at MacWorld in January.
  • Reply 3 of 42
    Actually, the current Mac Pro was released in August 2006.

Amazon seems to be out of stock on both models--with a 3-5 week wait. If that means new MacPros, then they are just around the corner...December? January?

Worth the wait.
  • Reply 4 of 42
    buddhabuddha Posts: 386member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by onlooker View Post