Where can I get a graduation in software programming to become an Apple developer?

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
Hello!

I want to become an Apple developer and write applications for Mac OS X and the iPhone, etc. At present, I have very little knowledge about programming but I have always been very good at whatever little I've learnt. Ever since I switched to the Mac platform about a year and a half ago, I've had this burning desire to write software for it. So...

Can anyone tell me which universities, if any, offer graduation courses in Mac based software programming? They may be in the USA or even anywhere else. I'm looking for a wholly Mac based curriculum that won't burden me with useless subjects such as Physics, Chemistry and stuff. What's the best match?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 38
    outsideroutsider Posts: 6,008member
    Your best bet is to get a regular degree in CS or something like that and concentrate on learning the basics in languages, like C. If the university offers any mac specific courses (doubtful but maybe) then all the better. Keep on the look out for C and Objective-C. Avoid C++, it has less applicable value for Mac development. C at least will get you grounded in the basics.

But you will be required to take some mid and high level math courses (algebra, trig, calculus, etc.) and probably basic physics. Unless you have credits that you can use already.

Then, getting to know Cocoa will be easier done on your own. Some books I like are "Proramming in Objective-C" (Stephen Kochan), "Cocoa Programming for MacOS X" (Aaron Hillegass), and a good X-code specific one "Step into X-code" (Fritz Anderson). I have those and more if you are interested
  • Reply 2 of 38
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by aryayush View Post

Hello!