MacSpeech's Dictate: high quality voice recognition for the Mac

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 26
    I've been using iListen for a couple of years at home, and Dragon NS at the office, and even being something of an Apple fanboy, I have to admit that Dragon has it all over iListen in accuracy, ease of correction, interface, and ease of training. I've been hoping for years that MacSpeech would license the Nuance core technology for a. Mac-only product. This is great news for the Mac market, as the Mac platform desperately needs a first-class speech recognition and transcription solution. Shame it's only for Intel, but it's another reason to sell my Powerbook on eBay...
  • Reply 22 of 26
    webmailwebmail Posts: 639member
    I actually use Dragon on my mac (sort of) inside of VMware Fusion to dictate text to word, then I just copy/paste or drag it off windows onto the mac desktop.

I love this software. It's not practical in an office environment all the time. But I've written a lot more freely when I'm alone. It's nice to be able to have your thoughts written out.
  • Reply 23 of 26
    I bought iListen in Version 1.6 and it just did not work as advertised. When I heard they were integrating Dragon's engine, I was excited. Really excited. Apparently it now works very well.

However, I am very disappointed with the company MacSpeech. After offering the $79 Upgrade for loyal customers, it turns out they wanted to charge another 70 or 79 USD for shipping. I have ordered a lot of things from the US, but for a box of a DVD and a microphone, that is silly money.

-> Email to their support 1

Then I got the information that they are working on the UK store. Great.

They send out another marketing mail, with no link to the UK store. I still "find it", try and order my software. Warning that upgrade code can only be used once. Error on their cart page.

-> Email to their support 2

I then receive an email stating they've fixed it and re-issued my upgrade code.