Nearly 100 fixes planned for Apple's second Leopard update

Comments

• Reply 81 of 103
    jragostajragosta Posts: 10,473member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by melgross View Post

I'm not so sure the OS will benefit so much from SSE4, but programs run in it will, if they're rewritten slightly.

I'm not a programmer, so take this with a grain of salt, but my understanding is that with CoreVideo and all the other internals of the OS, the third party programmers don't have to do much (if anything) to take advantage of SSE4 or any other new CPU feature.

Once Apple writes it into the OS, everything using those calls will benefit.

As for the OS, there will presumably be some benefit, particularly in graphics things, but most of the OS level features are so fast that any additional gains probably won't be noticed. For example, who cares if CoverFlow can go 20% faster?
  • Reply 82 of 103
    Wow, I feel so lucky to not have suffered through all of these problems that everyone has. I upgraded the day Leopard was released (I pre-ordered it) and I have seen some glitches and the occasional minor problem which has required me to restart, but none of these deadly bugs have been crawling through my mac.

I guess it must be the fortuitous combination of RAID (stops bugs dead), ethernet (the calming vapors keeps panic at bay) and software patches (which if combined with chewing gum can stop leaks).

OK, yes I'm teasing those who say the sky is falling. And I actually am sorry that you have experienced these problems. BUT you are in the minority. Your experiences are NOT typical of all upgraders/Leopard users.

The overall satisfaction level with Leopard is 81%.

It just bothers me when people take their own little peephole on a situation (to borrow Vonnegut's brilliant turn of phrase) and try to make it the only true viewpoint for all of us.

I am sorry that Leopard has caused you problems. Please report them to Apple. Thank you.
  • Reply 83 of 103