Mac Pro - Do I need two processors?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I'm a graphic designer who does a lot of photoshop work and am about to purchase one of the new mac pros - a huge outlay for me! I can save $500 by choosing the single processor version of the system, my question is, how big a difference does the second processor make for real-world task speeds?

In my case I do a lot of CS3 work, often having photoshop, lightroom and bridge opened simultaneously. When working in lighroom I could easily be viewing folders containing 1,000 - 2,000 print resolution images while also having mac mail, firefox and more opened in the background. I also do occassional video work in Final Cut Studio. I was thinking it might be smarter to save the $500 and spend the cash on an extra 8GB of ram for the system as well as some fast hard drives, any thoughts on what the best bang-per-buck return for someone like me would be?

Any advice would be much appreciated. I am also curious if anyone could recommend good internal drives for my new mac (i need about 2TB of storage!) and whether choosing one of the fancier graphics cards will make any difference for photo/video editing?

Sorry for being such a technical dumb ass!

- Sophie

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    Hmm, I think having more RAM would benefit you more, as you tend to have lots of applications open at the same time, don't get your RAM from Apple though, they charge an arm and a leg.

As for the rest: No idea Sorry
  • Reply 2 of 8
    onlookeronlooker Posts: 5,252member
    If you wait a little while MacWorld news site will most likely have photoshop benchmarks between both systems.
  • Reply 3 of 8