Wanting to ditch Winbloze...

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hey there all... I just registered and I'm hoping to find some really encouraging information here. Let me give you guys a quick background so you know where I'm coming from prior to posting my questions...

I'm 37, and have been an HPUX admin for about the past 15 years. I have a LOT of Unix experience, and also Linux experience. In the past I have participated heavily in Linux advocacy and even wrote some articles for the linux.com website. Prior to my Unix years, I was a Windows guy. I have built all of my own PCs for the past 15+ years, and have run Microsoft since DOS 3.3, I think. Suffice to say I'm pretty computer savvy on multiple platforms.

My home computer use is for Internet browsing, e-mail, school work (going back to get an Associates), and I'm a pretty big fan of online gaming as well as a few stand-alone games. My goal is to make my current PC the last PC I owe, or at least the last time I ever run a Microsoft OS on any computer I own.

Now, here is where I stand. I really despise Microsoft and in that vein I am wanting to get away from Windows completely if possible. I'm pretty much ready to take the plunge into either an iMac or a Mac Pro. My concerns are not dealing with Internet browsing, e-mail, class work, etc. My concerns are entirely focused on gaming. I don't think that the current iMac has the video horsepower with the ATI graphics that most games require. Furthermore, I'm really not even sure what gaming I can do on a Mac and this concerns me.