Learning curve: Macromedia vs. Adobe

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
If I was to get into web based programs, which suite would be easier to pick up?

I have no programming background so I'm looking for something easy to learn.

For instance, is the Dreamweaver, Fireworks and Flash combo easier than say the Photoshop, GoLive and LiveMotion package?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 17
    i'd say they're about the same. the adobe suite might be a little bit easier, but not so much so that it makes to much difference. it all depends in your background. i started off pretty much as an adobe user with the exception of flash ( livemotion wasn't even a twinkle in they're eye yet). for me at least, as i got more knowledge in development, macromedia's tools had more flexibility and just made more sense. add to that the majority of firms seek people with macromedia experience didn't hurt to pursuade me either. but hey, both companies have 30 day demos, try them out. you might also look into freeway (beat you macanoid?) as well. i didn't care for it all that well, but it may suite you and your work style.

[ 01-22-2003: Message edited by: running with scissors ]</p>
  • Reply 2 of 17
    [quote]Originally posted by satchmo:

<strong>If I was to get into web based programs, which suite would be easier to pick up?

I have no programming background so I'm looking for something easy to learn.</strong><hr></blockquote>

I personally thought Dreamweaver was way more intuitive and easier to pick up than GoLive - but that was years ago and I have no clue if that is true anymore.