160gb or 250gb

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I was about to buy the $1299 Macbook this weekend and upgrade it to 160gb the highest option I believe. Now it starts with 160gb and you can upgrade to 250gb for 100$. I do not know if I need this increase. I will use it for surfing, pictures, burning dvd's, and itunes, and I don't play any games. Is 160gb enough? To be honest I am not technically inclined and I don't really get what it means anyway, just want to have a good fast computer that works well when I am doing all this stuff simultaneously.

I would greatly appreciate any input.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    Yeah 160 GB should be enough, mine is 110GB and I store over 3000 photos, a 40GB itunes and lots of videos. So 160GB should be plenty
  • Reply 2 of 9
    aplnubaplnub Posts: 2,605member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by limeade View Post

I was about to buy the $1299 Macbook this weekend and upgrade it to 160gb the highest option I believe. Now it starts with 160gb and you can upgrade to 250gb for 100$. I do not know if I need this increase. I will use it for surfing, pictures, burning dvd's, and itunes, and I don't play any games. Is 160gb enough? To be honest I am not technically inclined and I don't really get what it means anyway, just want to have a good fast computer that works well when I am doing all this stuff simultaneously.

I would greatly appreciate any input.

If it is going to be your main computer for the foreseeable future, upgrade. Otherwise, I never get the big hdd's in my notebooks. I have the 160 in my MB.
  • Reply 3 of 9
    Another vote for 160GB. I'd much rather spend the extra $100 and get an external drive that you can use for backups, etc.
  • Reply 4 of 9
    you could always buy an even larger internal drive from owc or somewhere, like this one, up to 320gb for under $200. owc's full list of macbook-compatible hard drives is here.