Fortune: Jobs hid cancer for nine months

Comments

• Reply 21 of 94
    deapeajaydeapeajay Posts: 909member
    Give me a break. Investors in Apple have absolutely NO SAY in what jobs does in his private life, even if that means making a questionable decision about his health. Yes, Jobs is key to the success of Apple at this point, but when I bought stock in Apple I didn't buy stock in Steve Job's personal affairs.
  • Reply 22 of 94
    dtoubdtoub Posts: 18member
    I'm a physician, and certainly am glad SJ had his surgery, which is likely to be curative (I'm not sure where the previous comment is coming from in asserting that this form of cancer almost always recurs). That said, it's his own business whether or not to undergo surgery. And let's put it in perspective: with an initial diagnosis of pancreatic adenocarcinoma (the one that is most commonly fatal in the end, although it is curable when caught early), it's not entirely unreasonable to consider other approaches simply because the standard curative therapy, a pancreaticoduodenostomy (Whipple procedure) often times is not feasible as the tumor has spread beyond the pancreas by the time of surgery.

When a Whipple procedure is feasible, then many patients can indeed be cured, although there is not insignificant morbidity associated with the operation. In many cases, surgeons may end up doing what we call a “peek and shriek,” in which the abdomen is opened, it becomes obvious that the tumor is not resectable (ie, the cancer is not curable with surgery), and the best option is to just close the patient and consider a clinical protocol that might or might not help prolong life somewhat.