Auto Cad for a Mac

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I need some help, I have been using Auto CAD from Auto Desk, for the past 3 1/2 years, on an HP Laptop. Of course this required using Windows XP Pro. I have finally taken the plunge, and purchased a very robust MacBook Pro, and have installed Windows XP Pro, using VMWare Fusion, on my Mac. I have machinery in my business, that will always require the use of Auto CAD, so I have also purchased a new desktop PC, which will stay in the office, and run the suite of software that has Auto CAD on it, to write the code for my machine.

What I would love to do, is try out CAD software, on my mac, that will export DXF or DWG files. This would allow me to only have to use my desktop PC, maybe 2 or 3 hours a week, versus that amount in a day.

Has anyone out there made the switch that I am wanting to make? If so, what is the most similar to Auto CAD from Auto Desk?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    k squaredk squared Posts: 608member
    I'm a bit confused. You can already export DXF/DWG from AutoCad running in Fusion, correct? Are you looking for Mac native CAD applications? If so, there's VectorWorks.
  • Reply 2 of 9
    ipeonipeon Posts: 1,122member
    Here's a list of CAD programs for the Mac.

http://www.pure-mac.com/cad.html
  • Reply 3 of 9
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by k squared View Post

I'm a bit confused. You can already export DXF/DWG from AutoCad running in Fusion, correct? Are you looking for Mac native CAD applications? If so, there's VectorWorks.