Morgan Stanley: 40% of college students plan to buy Macs

1235»

Comments

• Reply 81 of 95
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Flounder View Post

Yeah, I have an epi degree, so I'm perfectly aware of what the median is. Median and mean both have their advantages and disadvantages, and give you different information.

If you have a distribution that's skewed, the median gives you a more apropriateview of what the typical (i.e. 50th percentile) person is spending. Of course, if there's a peak at both ends and a valley in the middle, the median may not be to helpful.

Obviously, a lovely graph of the actual distribution is what will tell you the most.

I maintain that, in the context of the discussion that's been going on, the median is likely more informative. Having both would be best.

And I continue to say that without data, you are compounding the problem. You know very well that you can't assume anything that you don't know to be true. The only thing we know is the average. nothing else can be assumed.
  • Reply 82 of 95
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DavidW View Post

What would be nice is if we knew the standard deviation. This would reveal how accurae the mean is. A small standard deviation, say about $250, would tell us that 68% of the data points was withn + and - $250 of the mean. And that the mean is truly reflective of the real average amount college students paid for a laptop. At this point the mean and median (and maybe also the midpoint) should be very close to each other.

A large standard deviation, say about $600, tells us that the mean is not so accurate as %68 of the data fell + and - $600 from the mean. That's a large range and most likely caused by a peak in the data at one or both end. It is at this point (like you stated) that the median may be a more revealing value (providing the peak is only at one end) of the true average amount paid for a laptop by college students.