Questions on buying first Macbook...

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I recently turned 17 and am looking forward to my first Mac purchase...

I am hopefully doing the right thing and waiting until the next update of the Macbook lineup with the 'Monteniva' chipset. Although I have a few questions to ask before I make my decision.

Assuming the next Macbooks are similar to the current line, would it be sensible to buy the base model when it is released and buy upgrades for RAM and a Hard Drive separately to save myself money?

Also, again assuming the new models are similar to the current ones, is there a major risk involved if I decided to replace the RAM and HD myself, considering I have never done anything like this before? Is there a good chance I can do permanent damage to the Macbook or the RAM/HD I purchased?

That would lead me to my last question which is if I took my Macbook to an Apple Store (In Belfast where I am applying for a job!) would they replace the HD/RAM for me even if I bought them elsewhere?

Or would PC World/Currys even do it?

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by mburnett View Post

Assuming the next Macbooks are similar to the current line, would it be sensible to buy the base model when it is released and buy upgrades for RAM and a Hard Drive separately to save myself money?

I myself am doing the same thing, but I'm doing this with Apple's current line of macbooks. Buying Ram and a Hard Drive is easy, and I reccomend www.crucial.com/uk for RAM, as it is cheap and they also give you a free USB drive. I don't think you can buy Hard Drives there, however you may be able too. The only problem with this option is in case you want a superdrive, but I'm assuming you don't want one, as otherwise you would of gone with the second option for the Macbooks (£829 option)

Quote: