Adobe 'pleased' with ongoing Flash for iPhone development

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 53
    jowie74jowie74 Posts: 540member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by NOFEER View Post

flash bogs down a computer with slower processor, iphone has a "phone" slower processor and most of flash is those crappy ads i don't want to see anyway, why use up my processor for that junk. good riddance to flash.

I'm a Flash developer and I am on the fence. Yes, there are a lot of Flash ads, but on the other hand there are a lot of sites which use Flash in a good integral way.

What I hate is the way that people are telling us what we are allowed to have in our browers. Why can't we let the USER decide? In other words, include Flash, but allow users to turn it off by default. You could select a Flash pane and switch it on and off at your leisure. Why not that? At least that way if I browsed to a page which relied on Flash, I could turn on the essential components while leaving the ads switched off.

Why not this?
  • Reply 42 of 53
    wigginwiggin Posts: 2,265member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jowie74 View Post

I'm a Flash developer and I am on the fence. Yes, there are a lot of Flash ads, but on the other hand there are a lot of sites which use Flash in a good integral way.

What I hate is the way that people are telling us what we are allowed to have in our browers. Why can't we let the USER decide? In other words, include Flash, but allow users to turn it off by default. You could select a Flash pane and switch it on and off at your leisure. Why not that? At least that way if I browsed to a page which relied on Flash, I could turn on the essential components while leaving the ads switched off.

Why not this?

You got my vote!
  • Reply 43 of 53
    yay!

There must be a good reason why they haven't done this already... The only one I can really think of is that Jobs/whoever at Apple just doesn't want Flash on the iPhone...
  • Reply 44 of 53