iTunes Store Song Quality and a few Questions

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
Hi. Ok so I have a question, I know the iTunes Plus songs are higher quality, 256kb/s but I can't seem to find if its VBR. Are the itnes plus songs vbr??

Now just some other questions I had:

1. How come songs I import from a CD using 256k VBR AAC format don't have the little bracket that says (VBR) the way MP3 VBR songs do?

2. Does anyone know why/when all of the iTunes songs are going to be in the DRM-free higher quality format? All of Amazon's songs are DRM free 256k VBR MP3s.. I would buy from there, but I'm a quality-wh0re and know that 256k AAC sounds better

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    galleygalley Posts: 971member
    1. I'm no expert, but I believe all AAC uses some sort of VBR.

2. The record companies are angry at Apple for having such a large market share, and are depriving them of DRM-free tracks. Like you, I'm holding out for AAC (or better yet, Lossless).
  • Reply 2 of 8
    cruisercruiser Posts: 17member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Blascock View Post

Hi. Ok so I have a question, I know the iTunes Plus songs are higher quality, 256kb/s...

...really? I've bought a couple of albums and some individual songs from the iTunes store but when I play them the bit rate is 'only' 128 kb/s. Is this due to a setting in my iTunes and if so, how can I change it?

EDIT: I've just noticed that Blascock refers to iTunes 'PLUS' songs... what's that then?
  • Reply 3 of 8
    galleygalley Posts: 971member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by cruiser View Post

...really? I've bought a couple of albums and some individual songs from the iTunes store but when I play them the bit rate is 'only' 128 kb/s. Is this due to a setting in my iTunes and if so, how can I change it?

EDIT: I've just noticed that Blascock refers to iTunes 'PLUS' songs... what's that then?

iTunes Plus tracks are 256Kps, but are also free of nasty DRM.

FAQ
  • Reply 4 of 8