Best Firewall Solution for OS X

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
What's the best (Software)Firewall solution for OS X. At the moment I work with a mixed environment ( ipfw, Apple Application Firewall and Little Snitch ). It seems to be secure, but this is an absolute overhead. I noticed, that my internet performance slowed down. For the moment I'm not able to spend money on a hardware solution. I'm searching for a complete Firewall software that controls incoming as well as outgoing connections ( Apple seems not to be interested in distributing a complete and easy waterproof solution ). Unfortunately ipfw offers no application control. I'm not a security expert, thus I need an easy configurable firewall.

Thanks for your proposals.

Daniel

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    talksense101talksense101 Posts: 1,738member
    Apple's firewall is ipfw. What more do you want from a firewall? The user interface sucks, but the features are there on the command line.

How do you connect to the internet? Your router / modem will already have a firewall built in. It will give you control over which ports you want to expose to the internet.

If you want applications to stop calling home, I think little snitch is best. I doubt if the firewall is causing slowdowns to your system.
  • Reply 2 of 4
    sambamacsambamac Posts: 19member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by talksense101 View Post

Apple's firewall is ipfw. What more do you want from a firewall? The user interface sucks, but the features are there on the command line.

Yeah, it's ok. But I want one solution and It must be easy to use. Apple is master in simplify things. So what's the problem? Why Little Snitch and not the Apple Firewall? Apple targets the consumer market and I think they should deliver a complete and easy solution. They began very well, but they must complete their work (in and out).