pda's and mac os x

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
hi,

i am an utter newbie when it comes to mac's

i am quite impressed with the new slew of mac's though and mac os x as well

anyways i am planning on buying a new pda quite soon as well as making the switch to a powerbook sometime this year

so do most pda's sync with mac os x?

especially the ipaq 3870?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 19
    odinn5odinn5 Posts: 107member
    I use a Palm Vx and am using the new Palm Desktop for OSX. It works very well (and it's only a beta program). I don't know about an Windoze based PDA but i have used the Palm for many years, my company has also taken to issuing them out to our regional feild members. I have heard in some forums that the Sony Clie might not be working with the OSX desktop (third hand info, check some of the Palm forums). But the new one that Sony has will be my next upgrade (it is way past any other PDA out there), after it is made compatible with the new desktop. My Palm has always served me well and I would have to be in a highly medicated condition to switch to a Windoze machine.
  • Reply 2 of 19
    torifiletorifile Posts: 4,024member
    The Pocket PC machines don't work with Macs at all out of the box. You either have to have Virtual PC or a program called Pocket Mac to sync them. I can't speak to the Pocket Mac solution as I've never tried it and the VPC situation doesn't appear too good since VPC 5 runs like molasses in winter on most Macs. You might want to try to find out about the Pocket Mac solution and see if it'll run in OS X...

ok, just checked <a href="http://www.pocketmac.net/"; target="_blank">http://www.pocketmac.net/</a>; and saw that they do support OS X. So there's a good option for you... and don't let the availability of Pocket PC solutions hinder you from making the switch.
  • Reply 3 of 19
    yeah just found that link in a detailed review about pda's in the german c't mag