Explanation of Slow Window Resizing

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Lately, many people have been posting complaints about OS X's slow speed. Most of these complaints are related to OS X's slow window resizing. I thought I would discuss it here to help people understand some of the design decisions that Apple is making. (And no, they are not idiots.) I am a professional programmer, but be forewarned that I don't work for Apple, and I don't do much Mac programming. So much of the following is pure speculation.

The first reason for slow window resizing is that OS X resizes windows in real-time (duh). But Windows NT and Windows 2000 handle real-time window resizing much faster on seemingly comparable hardware. So there must be other factors involved...

The second reason for slow window resizing is that OS X double buffers windows. ( And, no Scott H, it's not just because the buffers take up a ton of memory.) In case you don't know, OS X stores a copy of every window's contents in an offscreen memory buffer. So suppose a window is obscured by a bunch of other windows. Then suppose it is brought to the front (top of the z order). OS X can use the double buffer to restore the window without the application's help. In contrast, Windows and (sort of) UNIX do not double buffer. Instead, the application is responsible for redrawing the windows contents when it becomes unobscured. Double buffering negatively impacts window resizing because:

1. Whenever the window size increases, the size of the offscreen buffer will need to increase. The operating system will first try to extend (realloc) the offscreen buffer. In some cases, it may not be possible to just extend the buffer, so the operating system will have to allocate a whole new buffer and copy the old buffer's contents there. This could be really slow...