Learn C using Mac OS X

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Sorry if this is a duplicate. I tried searching without finding anything relevant.

I'd like to learn C using Mac OS X. Eventually I want to work my way up to using Cocoa for some specific apps I'd like to develop.

I've found pretty good resources for learning Cocoa but they presume you know C. The resources I've found so far are windows centric. Is there a tutorial based on using OS X?

I have a lot of experience with writing software for years in several different languages and have used Applescript quite a bit and have some experience with Applescript Studio so I'm not starting from scratch.

Thanks for any suggestions you can supply.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,322moderator
    You can create a standard tool in XCode using File > New Project > Command line tool > standard tool. Then it sets you up with a main.c file and you can start building functions and code around it.

The best reference for C is the Kernighan and Ritchie book (save the PDF):

http://www.thungsong.ac.th/teacher/c...guageAnsiC.pdf

They developed the language itself so it's kind of the definitive reference for C.

Here is a short tutorial (ignore the disclaimer, it's still a decent overview of C):

http://www.lysator.liu.se/c/bwk-tutor.html

Cocoa is an object-oriented language but C is procedural so you won't deal with classes and things in C. It won't fully prepare you for Objective-C but IMO it's still one of the best languages to learn.

To extend to classes, you can imagine that instead of functions lying about on their own, they are contained in objects. You then instance the objects and call the functions via the instance.

The syntax of Objective-C is a bit different too so you should probably start looking at it right away so you can see the equivalent way of writing things.
  • Reply 2 of 7