Apple announces new 13-inch MacBook

Comments

• Reply 361 of 522
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,423member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ryan330 View Post

I understand your points about the old MacBook, but I think you failed to understand my points about the new MacBook. Steve Jobs is not an idiot. He single handedly leads the computer industry. If he made a choice to drop a certain type of port from his best selling line of computers of all time, he must have had good evidence to support his decision. If firewire is the only means of rescuing harddrives and transferring data, then clearly this would have been a bad decision. Apple is not that stupid, however. I am not a computer EXPERT, so I can't rattle of different means of doing what you described off the top of my head, but i guarantee you there are ways to solve those issues without a firewire port. The times are changing in the computer industry and Apple clearly feels as though its time to phase out firewire.

Ryan

We're going to see. I'm just not a fan of USB nor am I an fan of computers with premium pricing without the commensurate premium hardware. The video market isn't going to be that bad but audio market is going to be affected a bit more.
  • Reply 362 of 522
    tenobelltenobell Posts: 7,014member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by hmurchison View Post

Ryan

We're going to see. I'm just not a fan of USB nor am I an fan of computers with premium pricing without the commensurate premium hardware. The video market isn't going to be that bad but audio market is going to be affected a bit more.

I don't understand the "audio has to have FireWire" argument. Video needs more bandwidth than audio. The video signal is larger and has at least one sometimes two audio tracks.
  • Reply 363 of 522
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,423member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by TenoBell View Post