Smoothe scrolling...?

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Okay... the GUI, in general, has been around long enough that I would hope by now we could have some nice, smoothe scrolling. Am I alone on this...?

Great... we have transparency, drop shadows, and a host of other lovely trinkets... (all of which I LOVE, by the way) But what does it take for scrolling to be smoothe...? I have a few input devices with scroll wheels and I would just LOVE to be able to scroll through a Word Doc, a web page or any OTHER instance where I need to scroll without having jerky, incremental jumps.

Is it an OS thing...? or is it that the application developers do not "tap-into" the right APIs...? Can't they just "buffer" the whole document and allow you to fluently scroll around as if it were just an "open Window" where it doesn't need to redraw...?

I am not a developer... so I have no clue about this stuff... but sitting here using my Wacom 4D mouse with proportional scroll wheel... I can only think: "What a waste... I have a device that's capable of proportionally controlling the movement of the page along the Y-Axis and not a SINGLE program (or the OS?) can or will take advantage of it..."

Anyone have any insight on this topic...?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 32
    steve666steve666 Posts: 2,600member
    I noticed also thaat scrolling (manually with the mouse) is very herky jerky also in OSX. I wish Apple would not focus on looks so much(notice that blob in the slide area? and give us a better OS...................
  • Reply 2 of 32
    ghost_user_nameghost_user_name Posts: 22,667member
    steve666:

Your incessant complaints are getting old and very annoying. If you have something constructive to add, please do, but don't keep whining about your bad experience with OS X.

Scott F: