iPhone Dev Info?

Posted:
in iPhone edited January 2014
Where are a few good sites (other than at Apple) to learn iPhone app development, specifically I'm looking for resources for the UI and graphics end of things... Hopefully there are a few devs here willing to give some pointers. Thanks all.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SpamSandwich View Post

Where are a few good sites (other than at Apple) to learn iPhone app development, specifically I'm looking for resources for the UI and graphics end of things... Hopefully there are a few devs here willing to give some pointers. Thanks all.

To be honest I don't think you need any other website apart from the Apple site, and a few books. I've just released my first app programmed by myself. I hadn't done any coding for 15 years (I was a C programmer way back then), and within 5 weeks I'd learnt enough Objective-C and iPhone dev to put the app together. I'm not claiming to be a great iPhone developer, but I managed ok. All I used was...

Apple primer docs (all the Required Reading docs in the developer reference library) - these are great reads, especially if you haven't done any OO & Cocoa dev before.

K&R's The C Programming Language book - just to refresh on basic C stuff

Beginning iPhone Dev book by Mark LaMarche - it won't get you developing whiz-bang apps but it certainly provides a great introduction to what you need to know.

Beyond that, the class descriptions on the Apple site are great, and the blogosphere in general was used just to see how other people handle the same problems as you're facing.

Good luck.

Noel
  • Reply 2 of 4
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by noel_h View Post