Multiple Logins for Mail

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Hi,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Apple Mail, and I was wondering

whether it's possible to have multiple logins for Mail on a single Mac. Here is my situation:

I have a small company with 5 employees who need to access their

website e-mail using IMAP on a single iMac. We've been using the Horde web client which

is horrendously slow and ugly. I would like for each employee to be

able to use Mail to login to their e-mail account and then logout once

done. This way employees won't be able to read each other's e-mails. I

don't want to have different OS X root level login ID's because then my

employees won't have access to all the files on the main admin ID.

Unless there's a way around that as well. Any info would be much

appreciated!

Thanks,

Alexander

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    bbwibbwi Posts: 812member
    No, everyone needs their own root ID. Put the shared files in the Public directory of the Admin account
  • Reply 2 of 4
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by hanguolaohu View Post

... and I was wondering

whether it's possible to have multiple logins for Mail on a single Mac. Here is my situation:

I have a small company with 5 employees who need to access their

website e-mail using IMAP on a single iMac. ...

You don't plan to have all of your employees using a single MacOS X account, do you? You should create an account for each of your employees. Each employee should log into his/her account to access his/her messages. Then you don't have to worry about someone peeping their colleagues' messages or other files.
  • Reply 3 of 4
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,324moderator