Mac RAM and hard drives

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hello everyone,

New to this site so i hope to find a lot of info here. I'm new to the mac world and would like to purchase a Macbook. I've heard a lot of good things about them. I've been using a PC since the beginning of time. My question is how come macbook hard drives and RAM can't compare to the new PC laptops these days. I mean the standard these days for most laptops are 4G RAM and 320G hard drives. Is the RAM and hard drives in a mac different? (ie speed?). I know that i can always upgrade the RAM but i find the HD alittle small. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by rev1976 View Post

Hello everyone,

New to this site so i hope to find a lot of info here. I'm new to the mac world and would like to purchase a Macbook. I've heard a lot of good things about them. I've been using a PC since the beginning of time. My question is how come macbook hard drives and RAM can't compare to the new PC laptops these days. I mean the standard these days for most laptops are 4G RAM and 320G hard drives. Is the RAM and hard drives in a mac different? (ie speed?). I know that i can always upgrade the RAM but i find the HD alittle small. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Apple makes a lot of money selling overpriced upgrades. Most smart Mac buyers get RAM and drives elsewhere and install it themselves. Over the last few months Apple has switched all of its computers over to DDR3 memory, which is more expensive, but has come way down in price recently and will continue to do so.

It does make Macs look bad to people who are "on the fence" about buying them and comparison shopping, but I don't think they're going to change.
  • Reply 2 of 3
    splinemodelsplinemodel Posts: 7,311member