Should I get a MacBook now or wait?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hey guys. I have been a PC user ever since and I'm currently a college student with a custom built gaming PC (Desktop). However, I would like to have notebook computer I could use on the go for basic computing. I have a lot of friends that uses an Apple Computer and I am very interested in making the switch.

Though, I do not need the notebook/laptop right away because I still have this massive desktop that is completely overpowered because I stopped gaming just about a year ago.

Now that I am making my first move to switch to a Mac computer, I probably will stick to it depending on how I feel about it. I have owned several Apple products such as an iPhone and an iPod and would like to step up to a higher tier product.

I know a lot of people that owns a MacBook and are very satisfied with it. I was about to purchase the MacBook (white) from the Apple Store yesterday but then after continuous research on such a big investment purchase, I found that Apple usually has a Back to School Sale which starts at the beginning of Summer. Not only that, I have also heard that price usually drops since new products/upgrades will be introduced.

So I guess my question is, should I get a MacBook now or wait for the Back to School Sale? I actually prefer to get the Aluminum Unibody MacBooks over the older plastic ones. And I assume that during Back to School Sale, the Aluminum MacBooks will have a price drop which is what I am hoping for.

What do you guys think?

And is a MacBook worth every penny? Is switching to Mac a very wise choice?

Thanks

Edit: Also, I found that there are Aluminum MacBook at the online apple store that are refurbished.... it cost $200.00 less than a brand new one. Would that be something I should consider also? I dont understand why its $200.00 cheaper if it only has minor defects on it and if those defects have been fixed or not.