My PC is dead, so I'm buying a Mac. Questions within...

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
My PC died on me yesterday, it's completely dead, won't power up at all. So I'm thinking of switching. I already have a MacBook but it's really my wife's machine, so while I have some Mac experience I'm still basically a PC guy.

I have a few questions in advance of the purchase though, which hopefully you helpful sorts will be able to answer:

- If I stick my PC's 750gb SATA internal drive in an external USB/eSATA enclosure, will I be able to plug this into my new Mac and read the contents? It's formatted to NTFS.

- Can I buy a custom spec iMac from an Apple store? The Apple.com delivery time goes from 24 hours to 5 weeks as soon as I customise a machine. I'd want the ATI graphics card option in the machine, not the default NVidia one.

- Which is better for 3D and video work - VM Ware or Parallels? Running Vista obviously, and apps like Mudbox, Zbrush, Maya, and video conversion/transcoding applications.

Thanks all.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    splinemodelsplinemodel Posts: 7,311member
    1. You can rescue NTFS by installing MacFUSE and the NTFS driver. Any case will do as long as the interface plugs into the iMac. In most cases USB is lousy for HDs, though.

2. If you want it now, you'll probably have to get Nvidia. If the wait is 5 weeks, it probably means ATI is not fulfilling orders in a timely manner. It has nothing to do with service time. My friends at Nvidia tell me that they kick the tar out of ATI, but I image they are biased.

3. Bootcamp may be your best option if you feel you must run PC. That said, VMWare has much better USB support, so it's probably required if you want to plug in your USB keys.