3 partitions, 3 operating systems?

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I'm relatively new to Macs (a year now) and have never done partitions before that weren't done through a DOS prompt or program. I remember hearing about OS X needing to be on the 1st partition or it won't work or something. If I want to install 3 partitions, one for OS 9, one for OS 10.1, and one for OS 10.2, will the OS X version that is NOT on the first partition still work?

So it's 10.2 on the first and largest partition, 10.1 on the next partition, and 9 on the last partition.

Also, how large will the partition for each of the older OSes need? Can I get by with just 1 gig for OS 9 and 2 gigs for OS 10.2? My apps folders don't take up too much space (maybe 300MB in OS 9 which'll stay about that size, and about a gig currently in the OS 10.1 apps folder--but most of that will be on the 10.2 partition).

I plan on doing this on 2 computers-- one has a 20gig hard drive and the other has a 40 gig.

I appreciate your advice. Thanks in advance.

Alex.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    First of all, Mac OS X does *not* need to be on the first partition if you have a fairly recent computer. I think that rule applies only to Beige G3s and the first-generation iMacs.

Second, you really don't need all those partitions. Mac OS X and Mac OS 9 can happily reside on the same partition with no trouble at all. So, my next question is why on earth would you want to keep both 10.1 and 10.2 on the same computer? Are you a software developer who needs to check software for backwards compatibility? That's about the only reason I can think of for keeping 10.1.

[ 08-23-2002: Message edited by: Brad ]</p>
  • Reply 2 of 7
    bigcbigc Posts: 1,224member
    I agree, Why would you want 3 Bootable OSes?
  • Reply 3 of 7
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    I keep 2 around. MacOS 9 on one, (teeny tiny little 2GB partition... barely know it's there) and MacOS X on the other.