imac G5 display broken... Any suggestions

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I work as a Apple tech for a large high school.. so i am reasonably adept at computer repair. I have a 20" imac G5 (original.. no isight) at home that I primarily use as a repository for my digital life. It is attached to a large firewire drive to increase it's storage capacity.

Recently I began having display trouble with it. These problems have now gotten worse and has made this machine virtually unusable. There are horizontal lines running thru the display very rapidly.. you can't actually see anything on the screen.

Using a VNC connection, I was able to view and control the mac remotely... so I know it is working fine otherwise. I made an immediate backup of all data on the internal drive to an external drive.

Since I knew there was an extended warranty on this model for display issues (I have already had the power supply replaced under warranty) I called Apple support and they agreed to replace the logic board (midplane) of the computer. I had to transport it to our local computer repair shop as I am not a 'certified tech'.

Certified techs at the store replaced the midplane.. but this did not solve the problem. They tell me it is the display itself that is damaged... and Apple won't cover this. I guess this is understandable.. but frustrating!

The repair for the screen would be over $600. Not worth it I think.

I have not yet fired up the broken mac since getting it back from the repair shop.. I plan on bringing it into work and plugging in an external monitor to see if that works.

Given my needs for a machine that mostly just holds data... what should I do? Keep using this machine (if the external monitor works)... buy a mac mini and attach it to my television for a little media center action?.... other ideas??