Windows Install

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi there,

I have been avoiding installing windows on my macbook pro 2.16 Core Duo for as long as I can, but I just have some software I need to run. I have no experience with windows being a mac faithful. I would like to know what version would work best. After doing some reading, it looks like windows xp pro is the version. Is that right? Can I buy a new OEM version? They seem to be slightly cheaper than the non.

thanks for the help in advance. I did a search on the forums but nothing seemed to answer my questions.

thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ibuzz View Post

Hi there,

I have been avoiding installing windows on my macbook pro 2.16 Core Duo for as long as I can, but I just have some software I need to run. I have no experience with windows being a mac faithful. I would like to know what version would work best. After doing some reading, it looks like windows xp pro is the version. Is that right? Can I buy a new OEM version? They seem to be slightly cheaper than the non.

thanks for the help in advance. I did a search on the forums but nothing seemed to answer my questions.

thanks

The only real difference between the retail and OEM versions is in the license*, the OEM/system builder version is theoretically tied forever to the first computer you install it on (though in practice MS does not enforce this). So I would certainly buy the OEM version to save some money.

*The only other difference I can think of is that, for Vista, the retail boxes come with discs for both 32 and 64 bit while "system builder" forces you to choose one or the other at purchase
  • Reply 2 of 12
    ibuzzibuzz Posts: 135member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by FuturePastNow View Post