Chinese rumor claims 2009 iPhone will be modest upgrade

Comments

• Reply 21 of 172
    ajayajay Posts: 117member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by solipsism View Post

We know they manipulated the photo to cross out serial number. Saving it from the native PNG to JPG could have added the artifacts.

i'm not an image pro, so it's probably easy for me to buy your explanation. nevertheless, i'm still surprised by the selective concentration of artifacts around the text.
  • Reply 22 of 172
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Robert.Public View Post

I find it hard to believe that there won't be any changes to the form.

I know the Mac side moves more slowly, but the iPod side of Apple is always evolving the look..

You mean the way Apple has improved the Mini look over time?

Or the Intel iMac Look?

Or the PowerMac G5... oops! I mean the Mac Pro Look?

Oh, that's right, there hasn't been much of a change, if any, in those.
  • Reply 23 of 172
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ajay View Post

downloaded the original image & messed around with image levels in Pixelmator... this is what came up.

is this normal?

or does anyone think that this is just some (un)imaginative photoshop-job?

It's a jpg. That's EXACTLY what you would expect from a jpg.

Those are compression artifacts.
  • Reply 24 of 172
    Quote:

well, the rumors may be true... but the image certainly has the marks of digital manipulation!

just my $0.02

Not really.
  • Reply 25 of 172
    Quote:

i'm not an image pro, so it's probably easy for me to buy your explanation. nevertheless, i'm still surprised by the selective concentration of artifacts around the text.

That is precisely where artifacts are concentrated. It's the detailed areas in an image that have artifacts clustered around them. Blank areas will show none.
  • Reply 26 of 172
    thomaspinthomaspin Posts: 35member
    Excellent 'reporting', thank you.