iMac freezing

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Hello all. Total newbie here, and not terribly great w/ computers, so I thought I'd ask for input.

In Feb. I purchased an iMac 3.06 w/ the 1TB hard drive. It has been great, until the last couple of weeks. Now it freezes every couple of days. I restart it, and it is still frozen. After a couple of hours, it unfreezes itself. It seems to happen randomly and not when working with particular applications. Is there a history of this? And if so, any idea how to resolve the issue?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    backtomacbacktomac Posts: 4,579member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by iDummy View Post

Hello all. Total newbie here, and not terribly great w/ computers, so I thought I'd ask for input.

In Feb. I purchased an iMac 3.06 w/ the 1TB hard drive. It has been great, until the last couple of weeks. Now it freezes every couple of days. I restart it, and it is still frozen. After a couple of hours, it unfreezes itself. It seems to happen randomly and not when working with particular applications. Is there a history of this? And if so, any idea how to resolve the issue?

Try repairing permissions using disk utility first.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    kaiwaikaiwai Posts: 246member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by iDummy View Post

Have you installed the latest updates? have you installed the latest firmware provided by Apple? what version of Mac OS X are you running? have you upgraded to 10.5.7? combo or delta? lots of information is missing from your post.
  • Reply 3 of 12
    taurontauron Posts: 911member
    Have you tried to uninstall all microsoft software? Try that and reboot.
  • Reply 4 of 12
    addaboxaddabox Posts: 12,665member
    Try downloading the iStat Pro widget for dashboard, and take a look at fan speed and temperature from time to time.

Overheating can cause seemingly random freezes, and overheating can be cause by wonky fan behavior.
  • Reply 5 of 12
    addaboxaddabox Posts: 12,665member