Far Future notebook hardware

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Myself and a couple of the people I work with were talking about our computers and our planned next purchases, two of us are due for new computers (1 laptop, 1 laptop or desktop) and one has just recently brough a standard macbook.

As usual the debate turned to the old question, should we just bite the bullet and buy now, wait a few months and buy the next generation macbooks coming out latter on this year, or buy a really cheap laptop now and wait for the really amazing technology due t come out in the next few years.

My plan is just to put up with my current shitty laptop for a few months and buy the next gen latter this year, but one of the others is planning on buying the cheap one and waiting for certain update. So I was hoping you all could help with the list of possible tech, pro and cons of it, and when it will show up, if ever.

I'm no expert but here are the things that came up in our talk:

USB 3.0 (Worth the wait, I was of the opinion that even if it does come out there wont be many devices for it for years, and even then only high end stuff)

BluRay (Is it ever going to show up? I though no and still think no, but again, my friend is sure its coming to mac...)

Quadcore (Obviously it will show up one day, but when could we expect to see a quadcore chip in macbooks/pros? I have to admit this would be cool and if I knew is was going to be out sometime in the next 12 months I might wait since the processor is one of the things you cant upgrade)

New trackpad based on iPhone iTouch screen (Would be cool but not ever going to be essential to anything, no bet on it ever happening)

Graphics card (I really know nothing about this, any cool technology just around the corner? Will Mac finally get comething thats above average?)

Solid state (Already here, just have to wait for it to get cheap, no big deal IMO since you can upgrade later)

Anything else I might no be thinking of?