Alarm Clocks

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
There is a corner in my apartment bedroom where alarm clocks go to die. They're not broken, they just suck. I'm looking for a decently designed alarm clock, and I'm hoping that Apple aficionados can help me out.

I'm specifically looking for a layout that won't make me oversleep by hitting "off" instead of "snooze". --An alarm clock that clearly distinguished a.m. from p.m. and alarm "off" from alarm "on".

A radio would be nice. As would: adjustable display brightness, atomic clock synchronization, battery backup in case of power failure...

Why does no one make a truly excellent alarm clock? I don't get it. Hopefully, I'm just ignorant.

So, what do you use? Brand and model number would be great.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    jupiteronejupiterone Posts: 1,564member
    Apple iPhone:

Clock >> Alarm

I've been using it for my "alarm clock" for about 2 years now. It allows me to schedule my alarm week days only without having to worry about turning the alarm off on weekends or back on during the week. It also has a snooze feature that cannot be mistaken for the off button. It isn't feature rich but it gets the job done.

It works great for me.

Edit: But if you don't already have an iPhone, it is a rather expensive alarm clock.
  • Reply 2 of 9
    floorjackfloorjack Posts: 2,726member
    Sony Dream Machines used to be good but the ones I look at these days don't interest me.
  • Reply 3 of 9
    dfilerdfiler Posts: 3,420member
    Ah... brings back memories of my human factors class many moons ago...

We were all required to bring in an alarm clock. The professor had us set the time and the alarm.