advice? upgrade from imac g5

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I have an iMac G5 20" 1.8 with 2GB of RAM, running 10.4.11

I am a photographer, so my main use of the machine is Photoshop.

What I am wondering is...

How much faster would a MacbookPro 17" be than my current machine (in basic setup)

It would be very handy to be able to work on the move, and if I could get comparable performance I could be very happy

Obviously the current desktops are faster, but hey they all be slow again in a couple of years!!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 14
    londorlondor Posts: 258member
    The current MBP 17 runs circles around your iMac.
  • Reply 2 of 14
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Londor View Post

The current MBP 17 runs circles around your iMac.

I thought it might...

Is there a measure or is it just insider knowledge

ie opening and saving a 16-bit 150MB psd file (which can be slow on my machine)
  • Reply 3 of 14
    Why don't you just update your machine to 10.5.8? It is quite stable and it is in a much better shape than SL right about now. It is not like SL brings too many new user features into the mix. Of course if you want new hardware, then it depends on your purse.
  • Reply 4 of 14
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by talksense101 View Post

Why don't you just update your machine to 10.5.8? It is quite stable and it is in a much better shape than SL right about now. It is not like SL brings too many new user features into the mix. Of course if you want new hardware, then it depends on your purse.

would a software update really improve performance that much??

I didn't notice any real improvements in speed with the last few updates I made....
  • Reply 5 of 14
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by talksense101 View Post

Apple doesn't sell OS X 10.5 anymore and Amazon lists it as "unavailable".