SL, Clean Install remembers computer name

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
've done a search and cant find anything on this - so apols if someone has mentioned this.



I did a clean install of SL on my 2009 IMAC, i used disk utility, erased my hard drive and did a fresh install. All cool, and this isn't really a problem except i thought it odd that in preferences it had remembered my computer name.... kind of.



The actual 'Computer Name' filed is populated with 'my name's Computer' obviously based of details i entered when setting up an account for the first time after SL install - however, the part where it says 'other uses can access this computer at afp://computer_name.home..... has somehow remembered what my computer was called before i did the fresh install..... not really a problem but now my computer appears to have two names - the new one created at install and a legacy name form before..... is this a bug/issue? must have stored it in RAM somewhere?



Cheers

Comments

  • Reply 1 of 1
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by KENTW View Post


    've done a search and cant find anything on this - so apols if someone has mentioned this.



    I did a clean install of SL on my 2009 IMAC, i used disk utility, erased my hard drive and did a fresh install. All cool, and this isn't really a problem except i thought it odd that in preferences it had remembered my computer name.... kind of.



    The actual 'Computer Name' filed is populated with 'my name's Computer' obviously based of details i entered when setting up an account for the first time after SL install - however, the part where it says 'other uses can access this computer at afp://computer_name.home..... has somehow remembered what my computer was called before i did the fresh install..... not really a problem but now my computer appears to have two names - the new one created at install and a legacy name form before..... is this a bug/issue? must have stored it in RAM somewhere?



    Cheers



    I'm not sure what all the technicalities are, but I'm pretty sure I had the same result when I did a clean install. My computer name wasn't identical as before, but it was too close to be "coincidence" (as I had changed my computer name from the default).
Sign In or Register to comment.