Installing OS X on 18 new imac

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I have to install os x on 18 imac, 800 mhz, which don't boot from os9.

I would like to ues an image, .dmg, and i've done one with ccc,carbon copy cloner, with all the apps that i need.

Users and tcp/ip will not be a problem because the lan is in dhcp and there will be only one user-Guest-, plus the admin.

I've have done a bootable cd with CDBOOT, the only problem is that it doesn't let me start up ccc, which i need to copy the system from the image to the hd.

I though of connecting the imac via firewire, starting with T hold down, and copying the system from one to the other.

Does anyone have a better idea ?

Thanks

Comments

  • Reply 1 of 12
    costiquecostique Posts: 1,084member
    Wait a sec. If they don't boot from OS 9, they must already have OS X installed. Or you mean you want them to be OS X only? I would copy everything that doesn't actually need installers over LAN from the machine you have set up. I would copy installers for the rest of software and run them manually.

    By the way, did you consider NetBoot?
  • Reply 2 of 12
    rozmariorozmario Posts: 10member
    they come with OS X "half" installed, and os 9 runs only in classic (no boot, no cd installer).

    NetBoot has not been considered an option and I think it will never be.

    I am not shure of copying via lan, it's rather slow, but i'll give it a try.

    I was considering usin an image for future install as well or if a system crash so badly that nedd to be reinstalled.
  • Reply 3 of 12
    davegeedavegee Posts: 2,765member
    [quote]Originally posted by Rozmario:

    <strong>I have to install os x on 18 imac, 800 mhz, which don't boot from os9.

    I would like to ues an image, .dmg, and i've done one with ccc,carbon copy cloner, with all the apps that i need.

    Users and tcp/ip will not be a problem because the lan is in dhcp and there will be only one user-Guest-, plus the admin.

    I've have done a bootable cd with CDBOOT, the only problem is that it doesn't let me start up ccc, which i need to copy the system from the image to the hd.

    I though of connecting the imac via firewire, starting with T hold down, and copying the system from one to the other.

    Does anyone have a better idea ?

    Thanks</strong><hr></blockquote>





    Well here is what I do:



    Parts List: 20GB Firewire HD, Site Licenses for software...



    1 - Take 20GB Drive and make it 2 partitions name one 'boot' and the other 'install'

    2 - Install 10.2.4 onto the 'boot' partition + CCC

    4 - Install 10.2.4 + All the software you'll be using on the 'install' drive.

    5 - Create any other accounts you might need (while booted from the 'install' drive



    Once you have that...



    1 - Plug drive into the machine that needs to be configed

    2 - Set startup disk to be 'boot' and restart

    3 - Use CCC to do the install set the source as 'install' (partition) and target being the machines internal drive usually 'Macintosh HD'.



    Works like a charm and saves a TON of time... but remember if you have software that does SN checks you either need to have 'concurent use' licenses or install them 'after'... We have concurent use licenses so it's not a problem.



    All that you need to do after that is reboot the machine (using its local HD) and set stuff like 'computer name' etc.



    Dave



    [ 03-06-2003: Message edited by: DaveGee ]</p>
  • Reply 3 of 12
    costiquecostique Posts: 1,084member
    If you had MacOS X Server, you would have Workgroup Manager which can install software on client machines.

    I think you are on the right track if the LAN is slow and you have gigs of software installers.



    [ 03-06-2003: Message edited by: costique ]</p>
  • Reply 5 of 12
    rozmariorozmario Posts: 10member
    Well if I had OS X Server, if I had a firewire Hd, I wish and I wish again.

    I think my only and best solution will be starting the new imac with the T hold (press ?) down and copy the sytsem with ccc.

    As soon as they will arrive i'll give it a try.

    Licences will not be a problems they all are multiple users

    Thanks
  • Reply 6 of 12
    jlljll Posts: 2,709member
    [quote]Originally posted by costique:

    <strong>If you had MacOS X Server, you would have Workgroup Manager which can install software on client machines.</strong><hr></blockquote>



    No it can't!



    Mac OS X Server has something called Network Install but that is not easy to setup.
  • Reply 7 of 12
    i'm kind of lost on this one.



    if they're new iMacs, they have OS X installed on them.



    There's no need to reinstall the system software.



    Are you talking about just applications?



    <img src="confused.gif" border="0">
  • Reply 8 of 12
    murbotmurbot Posts: 5,262member
    what



    [ 03-07-2003: Message edited by: murbot ]</p>
  • Reply 9 of 12
    zozo Posts: 3,115member
    how can OSX be "half-installed"?? :confused:



    As others say, if they are new, the system, iApps, etc are all already installed.



    Then just make a cd with the apps you need and install them one by one, or make multiple copies of the same cd and have a friend help or install a few at the same time, etc etc.



    Boh, ma che stai cercando di fare? Un backup?
  • Reply 10 of 12
    jlljll Posts: 2,709member
    [quote]Originally posted by ZO:

    <strong>how can OSX be "half-installed"?? :confused:

    </strong><hr></blockquote>



    New Macs have the system "half-installed" - you only have to load one of the restore discs the first time.



    I'm not sure, but I think that Mac OS X is fully installed and that it is the localized Mac OS 9 that you have to install yourself the first time.
  • Reply 11 of 12
    neutrino23neutrino23 Posts: 1,531member
    We got an 800MHz flat panel iMac last fall and it came with OS X fully installed and with OS 9 installed and OS 9 was bootable. Also, there is an OS 9 installer disk among the software restore CDs. The OS 9 installer doesn't give you any options. The installers for some things that used to be options, like language kits, are automatically installed into the Apple Extras folder. You can run these installers later from the HD if needed.



    [ 03-08-2003: Message edited by: neutrino23 ]</p>
  • Reply 12 of 12
    foadfoad Posts: 697member
    [quote]Originally posted by neutrino23:

    <strong>We got an 800MHz flat panel iMac last fall and it came with OS X fully installed and with OS 9 installed and OS 9 was bootable. Also, there is an OS 9 installer disk among the software restore CDs. The OS 9 installer doesn't give you any options. The installers for some things that used to be options, like language kits, are automatically installed into the Apple Extras folder. You can run these installers later from the HD if needed.



    [ 03-08-2003: Message edited by: neutrino23 ]</strong><hr></blockquote>



    AFAIK, the new machines that are being shipped, don't boot OS 9 at all. They only have classic.
Sign In or Register to comment.