Computer slower and a few other strange problems since upgrading to SL

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Hi all,

About a month ago, I upgraded my mid-2009 MBP to SL. I'm now on 10.6.1. Ever since the upgrade, my computer's been somewhat slower than it was when I ran Leopard (although many people I know say their machines are faster). I did restart several times at one point, and that seemed to speed it up, although it still experiences delays I didn't have before. I've also had a bunch of strange issues:

1) Safari is most noticeably slow, especially when using something like Top Sites on Safari 4. I alleviated this problem somewhat by setting new tabs to open a blank window rather than Top Sites, but even so, Safari is generally slower, gives me 'pinwheels' often, and also is less stable.

2) The other day, I restarted to find that all fonts except system fonts had been mysteriously deactivated. As a designer, I rely heavily on my many fonts, which I manage using Linotype FontExplorer.

3) Today, I opened my computer up after having it sleeping in a backpack, and it had turned off. It was not out of battery; it had just turned off for no apparent reason.

4) Judging by Activity Monitor, RAM is being used somewhat more heavily by the system, contrary to the advertisements of a 'lighter' footprint for SL as compared to Leopard. However, according to Activity Monitor (which I check frequently), the processor does not appear to be getting taxed any more heavily than under Leopard, which makes the sluggishness more inexplicable.

5) Yesterday, I could not get my computer to recognize my Time Machine backup disc. After restarting, it worked, but this is a pain.

I appreciate any advice I can get. Does anyone else have similar problems or solutions? Or is the general consensus that these are SL bugs that Apple will work out by about 10.6.4 or so?

Thanks,

Nathan

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,322moderator