Apple's 'illegal' Boston billboard at center of political controversy

Comments

• Reply 21 of 42
    One more battle involving apple
  • Reply 22 of 42
    mark2005mark2005 Posts: 1,158member
    The "billboard" actually makes the semi-industrial/elevated highway/parking lot area look nicer, given its bright colors. (I've been there many times in person as it's also next to Chinatown.)

Before the iPod ads were placed there (before the touch, it was a series of different nano ads), it used to be a giant mural with dolphins and fish. That was nice too.
  • Reply 23 of 42
    As a MURP student, I've come to have a greater appreciation for codes and ordinances like the one regulating this scenario. If Apple (or the 3rd party advertiser) had simply followed the process (which isn't really that cumbersome) this wouldn't be a problem.

In fact, Boston seems to have a pretty democratic (i.e responsive and fair) process of regulating outdoor advertising. Not all municipalities have a board (probably comprised of local businesses and city officials/planners) to regulate these issues. Thus, some advertisers are simply shut out by the process if their plans don't meet required specifications.

In other words, before attacking Boston and its officials, at leats understand that they're doing this the right way, unlike the advertiser who purposefuly violated city code.
  • Reply 24 of 42
    jeffdmjeffdm Posts: 12,951member
    I certainly can't speak to the local codes, but wow, that's a tacky ad. Not only is it needlessly enormous, if I were paying for a billboard ad, I wouldn't want to post one where its immediate surroundings don't look nice or tidy.
  • Reply 25 of 42
    brucepbrucep Posts: 2,823member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by teckstud View Post

What a rundown hood. Must be near a railway or highyway.

Or does all of Boston look like that?

yea bean town looks worn and tired ,

this topic is cutting edge news