Nokia suit against Apple seen as battle of two Goliaths

Comments

• Reply 21 of 76
    markbmarkb Posts: 153member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SDW2001 View Post

As for IP law, I'm no expert. However, my brother was a patent examiner, member of the patent bar and is now in law school focusing on IP. I don't get the impression that it's garbage, even if it IS a money generator.

I might just be bitter, but if IP law was working anything like intended, you wouldnt see countless tech lawsuits that pay off because a jury somewhere in Texas, educated at a highschool level, is conned into thinking they know what it takes to create such IP.

Most tech companies I have worked with seek patents just as a preparation to sue in case someone makes a dead end technology pay.
  • Reply 22 of 76
    gazoobeegazoobee Posts: 3,754member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Gwydion View Post

2 years it's not a long time for investigating iPhone, take converations with Apple, and the suing it.

You say that you haven't decided who is right or wrong, but you continue to argue points that leave room for Apple to be on the wrong side of this. I think it's clear that you have formed somewhat of an opinion like the rest of us. This statement I'm replying to for instance seems IMO to be just an opinion.

It's true that nothing can be determined until at least a teeny-tiny bit of the facts are known and right now we nothing other than the bare fact that company A is suing company B. All that being said though, the comments (by some), above to the effect of people drawing conclusions and presuming the innocence or guilt of one party or the other are a bit off-base IMO. True we don't know the facts, but that doesn't invalidate having an opinion on how things look right now. If you believe that we should wait then the whole thread might as well be deleted.