Hacker cracks Apple's latest iPhone 3GS security measures

1235»

Comments

• Reply 81 of 90
    chronsterchronster Posts: 1,894member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Amorya View Post

So does yours! (Assuming you count using a computer as a hobby.) If nobody used computers there would be no software piracy.

If nobody drove cars, there would be no-one killed by drink driving.

I'm a developer, and I'm very anti piracy. But I wish Apple could find a way to stop piracy without also stopping jailbreaking.

Amorya

It's hard to change minds around here. Stubbornness gets in the way of common sense.

Obviously jailbreaking an iphone doesn't point to intent to pirate. It's Apple who tries to say this, so it's complacent Apple fanboys who back up this misguided notion.

Apple doesn't want you jailbreaking the iphone because it means they have less control over what you do with it, which makes no sense since you BOUGHT the device and it's YOURS. Why can I throw the phone down a flight of stairs and run the risk of breaking it, but not jailbreak it while running the same risk? It's risk I'm willing to take, and it's none of Apple's business.

This reminds me when Apple said that jailbroken iphones could be used for terrorism and all the fanboys just sat there goin "Yeah, uh huh, that makes sense!"
  • Reply 82 of 90
    hill60hill60 Posts: 6,992member
    This is more like someone stealing the doors, just don't complain if the bank shuts down.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by chronster View Post

In order to rob a bank YOU MUST WALK THROUGH THE DOOR! Lock all doors and you'll never have a bank robbery

Buy a Droid, do what you want, iPhone OS software IP isn't your property, you have a licence to use it.

Quote:

Piracy = bad

Being able to do what you want with your property = good

Quote:

Punishing all for the negative actions of a few = a fact of life.

So are you denying the existence of pirated Apps?

Quote: