Apple One to One feedback

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I am going to buy the new 21.5 inch iMac. My only decision left is, From whom do I buy? I was asking myself if I should take this opportunity to buy the Apple One to One membership for a year.

I am not a sophisticated user and have thought, at times, it would be nice to be get some one on one help from an expert. I am sure this would help me take advantage of some of the capabilities that I have feared to explore. I am a teacher and would also like to make more attractive and creative page layouts for my notes and handouts.

But...That means I have to pay the 10% California sales tax. I know I'm not talking about a lot of money here but it doesn't hurt to get some feedback to help me decide. I used migration assistant about 4 years ago so transferring my data from my old iMac is not the main reason for considering the One to One. By the way, I just read in this forum that it can be difficult to find a time to make an appointment with a genius.

Thank you.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    bbwibbwi Posts: 812member
    You're the only one who can make this decision. If you feel you need the extra training then buy it. Don't forget to use your Teacher discount!
  • Reply 2 of 6
    When you start up a new Mac for the first time it will ask you whether you have an 'old' Mac, and if yes, would you like to transfer its contents to your new Mac? Connect the 2 Macs with an appropriate cable, click 'yes', and go out to lunch. When you get back disconnect, restart, and all will be ready and waiting for you.

No need for a Genius. That's for switchers.
  • Reply 3 of 6