Microsoft, Nokia, Nintendo take shots at Apple's iPad debut

Comments

• Reply 81 of 428
    mstonemstone Posts: 11,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Takeo View Post

The future Apple seems to be headed towards is one of the information appliance... think cloud computing and app-focused... where all you have is applications and they manage their own files. No confusing file system exposed to the user.

I like this concept. I was REALLY disappointed at first because being a programmer I don't like anything making my life easier at the sacrifice of not being able to do anything I want. Iphone is different, I really don't care about the restrictions because it is so small I wouldn't think about hacking it. But I look at the iPad as a computer like I look at a notebook.

If I change my perspective to more what you are saying, it becomes more acceptable. Like Steve said in the keynote." ...just go to kitchen where the iPad is and check the movie times... or whatever." Since there is apparently no user profiles and it is to be shared among the family, it needs to be a really simple device that even a child could use. From that perspective, I might buy one.
  • Reply 82 of 428
    cmf2cmf2 Posts: 1,427member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by kotatsu View Post

Oh and a quick question for those defending the iPad. If Apple ever re-engineered the Mac to only run Apple approved apps from a Mac iTunes store, would you still support Apple?

Serious question. It's the direction Apple are moving in, so it's not impossible to imagine that happening.

This is really pointless drivel. It is like a cop giving you a speeding ticket because you were going to speed based on your rate of acceleration.