Apple's iPad deal gives Hachette pricing leverage against Amazon

Comments

• Reply 41 of 116
    igeniusigenius Posts: 1,240member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by delreyjones View Post

The damn thing looks like a lot of fun to me and reading is only of its supported activities I'm looking forward to.

It does look like a lot of fun. I plan to use it to watch reruns of TV shows on NBC.com and Hulu.
  • Reply 42 of 116
    mactrippermactripper Posts: 1,328member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by macmondo View Post

I wish it were right. Only 10% for printing and paper???

first of all, it always depends on how many copies they print from that book.

I just know magazine printing where this cost of printing and paper, especially the paper is the biggest part of all costs.

I used to work as a print estimator and can honestly say that 10% of selling price is about right, in large quantities of course. Short runs cost plenty because of set up costs.

The more books printed, the cheaper per unit costs are usually. Sometimes it pays to order more or even a little less quantity in order to meet the production requirements of paper, labor, shipping, pallet capability etc. as not to cause waste and get the best price per unit.

No use sending a truck 3,000 miles with just one pallet on it.

Quote:

Amazon reluctantly agreeing to sell most hardcover releases between $12.99 and $14.99. Amazon, however, noted that it felt the prices were "needlessly high."

I think the prices are high as well, but if publishers allow people to RENT books at reasonable prices, a major game changer to be sure, then I welcome the higher "to buy" prices.

With Steve's announcement that "people don't read anymore", I highly suspect we will see some sort of renting option in the iBookStore coming soon.

Right now publishers are re-arranging their prices to reflect the new rental prices, if they rent a book for $7.99 and Amazon sells it for $9.99, it won't make much sense to many to rent.