One in five physicians likely to purchase Apple iPad - study

Comments

• Reply 41 of 184
    mactrippermactripper Posts: 1,328member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jsmjds View Post

As a physician, I will not be able to use the IPad to access my EMR because the IPad doesn't support Windows.

As a 26 year Apple user and seen NUMEROUS processor, hardware, UI and OS changes over the years, your best bet is to stick with a Windows solution in the business environment, it has the advantage of a much larger market share, stability in hardware and software UI and OS (outside of malware) and more third party solutions.

You might be able to use consumer level products from Apple in niche spots here and there, but Apple really doesn't pay attention to the needs and wants of the business or corporate market all that well.

As we speak Apple is already undergoing ANOTHER processor switch, it won't affect consumers all that much, but businesses who spend a lot of money on expensive software are going to get hit hard by the switch.

Apple is focused on the consumer market and that's why it has opened fancy stores in high traffic consumer locations. Not opening operations near heavy business locations, like industrial parks, business centers etc.

Sorry to say that, but it's the truth.

There is this fanboy fantasy that "only if 'this or that' then Apple could rule the world" but the fact is Apple doesn't give a rats ass about business or corporate market, that was CEO's Scully's play, not Steve Jobs.

Steve is about making devices easier to use for consumers and selling a lot of hardware in the meanwhile. If he was into business, he would sell OS X separate of hardware for ATM machines, POS devices, CAD/CAM machines and everything else the business world needs and he wouldn't be locking his hardware and software down.
  • Reply 42 of 184
    Quote:

As a physician, I will not be able to use the IPad to access my EMR because the IPad doesn't support Windows.