One in five physicians likely to purchase Apple iPad - study

14567810»

Comments

• Reply 181 of 184
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DHKOsta View Post

Nobody's complaining that every doc in the country wasn't asked, and I'm an accountant; we sample. The argument is that sampling 350 people to represent a huge population produces a larger confidence interval than I would like to see. There's a big difference between 13 and 27%, and even 27% may not be terribly impressive, depending on the methodology. Of course you don't take all the blood, but you take enough to run the tests you need.

Right, but as I said, it was marketing study, not a poll. The news we can use is that Epocrates was apparently sufficiently satisfied with the results to do an iPad version of their software. That's all I take from it.
  • Reply 182 of 184
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by mdriftmeyer View Post

There are currently already nearly 3 Million Nurses.

There are probably ten times that in support personnel.

They all use Laptops in each room they are monitoring a patient. Each room has a portable station with XP updating records constantly.

Instead of each room having a laptop the Nurse will run around and push changes to the Relational Database System hospital wide thus covering their dozens of patients with reduced costs to the Hospitals.

BEFORE this iPad was announced -- I figured the Medical community at the very least was going to be a HUGE market. Education seems like the next most likely but that depended on price. That $500 mark however, makes it very realistic.

Don't talk about dang netbooks -- they are a distraction for these two market -- especially with kids.

Every one of the DOWN-SIDES pundits have been echoing, are actually HUGE benefits for these two target markets;

>>Control software distribution to secured apps.

>>Remote wipe.

>>Control what data is on the device -- wireless mount points.

>>Does not have a video camera.