Parallels takes virtualization speed crown in head-to-head with VMware

124»

Comments

• Reply 61 of 70
    USB issues?? I've never had any USB issues with Parallels. In fact Parallels had the option to designate which devices work with each OS before Fusion. I remember having to tell Fusion every time I connected my Suunto watch (windows only) that I wanted it to open in Windows.

Passat 4-motion eh? I was a heartbeat away from getting the CC 4-motion but opted for 305hp nsf sh-awd on the Acura TL ;-)
  • Reply 62 of 70
    I have all three. I have run Fusions since 1.0, and Parallels since 4.0. My day job is managing a very large VMware ESX Enterprise environment, so I know VMware products inside and out, and do love them. However these results on a Mac are dead on.

I have never had a show stopper with any of them. I do know or have read that Parallels 3.0 was buggy and that people that updraded over the top of 3 to 4 had problems as well. For me Para 4.0 ran great, faster than even version 3.0 of Fusion. 5.0 is just that much better. My test XP vm boots super quick, quicker than any PC I have used.

Fusion was never really bad, just odd stuff like railing CPU's when the VM was doing NOTHING. Unity on my Macbook Unibody is really slow especially with Aero on in a Win 7 VM. Its faster if you turn on classic mode but Para 5 with Aero in Cohesion is way faster and smoother. Fusion has alot of screen tearing with Unity. Full screen both run well, but Para is faster.

Para just has so many little nice features that Fusion does not have. Cloning, cloning to template, tweaking of many more features, way better sharing between OS X and VM. Plug in a USB device and Para will prompt you "Mac or VM".

For whom ever said Fusion is more mature, does not know what they are talking about. Fusion is newer on the Mac, Parallels has been around longer.