Apple discounts Mac Developer Program subscription to $99

Comments

• Reply 21 of 52
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by esummers View Post

It is easier then ever these days to develop as a lone coder. The iPhone is not hard to develop for. Apple's development tools are good. Most of the Apps on the AppStore are written by a lone coder. Just because you don't think they could be done by a single person, doesn't mean they are not.

Coding for the iPhone is more or less easy. It's high-quality artwork and icons that today's lone coder needs help with. Toolbar icons in particular are notoriously hard to get right.

The App Store is very visual. An attractive app will outsell a well-coded-but-average-looking app every time.
  • Reply 22 of 52
    nasseraenasserae Posts: 3,167member
    Also during the website update process Apple messed up something. Now I cannot access the iPhone Developer Center even though I am a paid iPhone developer. I called them this morning and they told me my account is fine but they are experiencing a bug in the system. The Developers Portal and iTunesConnect working fine as long as you access the website using the URL not a link through the iPhone Dev Center. Anyone else having the same problem?
  • Reply 23 of 52
    woohoo!woohoo! Posts: 291member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by esummers View Post

Apple's normal practice is to drop the price of software and services over time as their market share increases. This really isn't out of character for them. Certainly it is pretty likely that the iPad is Apples first step toward replacing OS X and Windows for ordinary users. I'm sure within two years schools will be doing one-to-one iPad programs instead of laptops. There is no way they are planning to eliminate the Mac for power users any time soon though.