Apple's patent 'warning shots' prove disruptive for handset makers

Comments

• Reply 21 of 121
    nasseraenasserae Posts: 3,167member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by RCO3 View Post

Liberal quoting negates the value of the ignore list.

I never use ignore lists. I prefer to choose to reply or not to
  • Reply 22 of 121
    chronsterchronster Posts: 1,894member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by tawilson View Post

You further demonstrated your misunderstanding of patents. The outcome is irrelevant, it's the how it's handled (implemented) that matters.

I will also say, I am no patent lawyer, or even a lawyer for that matter.

Well I said I was fuzzy about the whole thing. Could you be more clear about what you mean by "how it's handled"? Are you talking about how the developers got from point a to point b, or how the code is used in the OS?
  • Reply 23 of 121
    tawilsontawilson Posts: 484member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by chronster View Post

Well I said I was fuzzy about the whole thing. Could you be more clear about what you mean by "how it's handled"? Are you talking about how the developers got from point a to point b, or how the code is used in the OS?

No worries, again from the way I understand it...

I'll use an example for sorting. There are numerous ways in which you can go about sorting things.

If I had a patent on Bubble-sorting, then nobody would be allowed to sort data that way without licensing it from me.

How ever they would be free to implement there own completely different method of sorting.

Searching is another example, forever people would search strings of text from the beginning which would involve checking every character.

However, some bright spark figured out that it would be more efficient and a hell of a lot faster to search backwards, as you can then skip "upto" the length of the search term each time. If they'd patented that reverse search method, then nobody else could search that way without licensing.