Apple's patent 'warning shots' prove disruptive for handset makers

Comments

• Reply 41 of 121
    jahonenjahonen Posts: 364member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by NormM View Post

Your numbers for cash are out of date -- they had over $24 billion in 2008. From the most recent quarterly report, Apple has $39.8 billion in cash and short and long term securities.

It's not the exact figures (the forbes ones seemed to be more recent) that is of interest, it's the ballpark of the figures. The "cash" is also about what you count into it (albeit I'm no expert on it). But if you count the cash + marketable securities from here: http://finapps.forbes.com/finapps/js...apl&period=qtr, you get 24,8B for 2009 (Nok being 13B). If you do the total current assets, Nok and Apple are 33B companies with Nok being marginally (0.5B) larger. Google is a 30B "asset" company and MSFT is a 52,5B company. Just replace aapl with nok, goog or msft in the URL to see comparable numbers for each.

My 3 minute search was to prove sukaram's false claim: "companies that are so small that Apple's cash is bigger than their market cap" means that "gargantuan" Apple has "gargantuan" adversaries in the Patent battles if this keeps building up the way it has for the last couple of months (big boys suing one another directly or indirectly).

HTC is smaller (around 3B), but that is not the only player in this.

Regs, Jarkko
  • Reply 42 of 121
    nagrommenagromme Posts: 2,834member
    I can see the arguments against (at least some) software patents, as well as the arguments for why Apple shouldn’t let their unique user experience savvy and development work be copied and turned to cheap crap THIS time.