First-gen iPhone, Droid sold 8 times better than Nexus One debut

Comments

• Reply 61 of 96
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jpmuk View Post

Not sure about light years. Maybe a couple of months. I'm sure the next rev iPhone will best it on specs AND build quality (which is really important when you use it almost constantly like may folk.

Hardware is irrelevant. Typically the latest released phone will have better hardware then the last release (that is if the phone wants to be a competitor in this space).

Its been a few months since I graduated to the smart phone world. My main deciding factor in choosing my phone was the network. I have been a Verizon customer (ATT before that) for 4 years now and I am very happy with the quality of service.

I was often very very close to switching to ATT for the iPhone. Believe me, it was a daily internal battle.

Then the Droid dropped and I went to Verizon and checked it out and ended up buying one. Its obviously not the prettiest device and the operating system could use tweaks, but there were a lot of things I did like.

I love and use daily the multitasking abilities, the voice google/maps search, gtalk, and google voice.

As a consumer I have very little brand loyalty. When my contract is up with Verizon once again I really do hope there is a Verizon iphone waiting for me. However, what I really want is both Apple and Google to push each other to give us consumers more features and options. I believe if any one company dominates this industry its bad for all of us no matter if thats the company you like best.

--- sorry for the rant
  • Reply 62 of 96
    mdriftmeyermdriftmeyer Posts: 7,503member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ihxo View Post

The thing with the so called "tech crowd" is, in the grand scheme of things, their opinion really doesn't matter.

Correct. When your goal is to target hundreds of millions of people you have to realize after 500k tech junkies the rest are general consumers.