New MacBook Pro

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi everybody!

I am completely new here, and therefore pretty excited at the ideas and opinions are gonna come out from this forum!

I am going to buy soon a new MacBook Pro 15"... finally, I have been using my PowerBook G4 for almost 7 years now... and cant wait to go for the new one!!!

I have a couple of questions and I thought it was a good idea, before running and buying the most expensive one, to go somewhere and ask the user experience... or simply an opinion from a person that understands more than i do about computer.

I use Mac to make and play music... so i need to load quite few plugins and applications. plus, playing live with it, I need a machine that run smoothly whatever action I decide to do (in the limit of possible)

Now, what's the big difference among the three type of 15", obviously the HD speed... but is there any substantial difference among 2.53, 2.66 and 2.8?? (I know this is a question that only an ignorant would ask, but please be nice to me )even because except this, I hardly see any difference in the specs of the three types!

Another question is about the new generation MacBook pro... I have been reading around... and that's actually how I ended up here...

is this the one in the store now the new generation?? it seems, from what I have read that the new generation is about the monitor... is that it?

moreover, the new 10.7 is it really coming??is it worth waiting for it, or the present one is good enough?? I mean I am sure it's good enough... but I wouldnt like to buy a version and then having the need to upgrade for compatibility with new applications... I see that difficult to happen, since the 10.6 is compatible with everything I need at the moment, but just want to be sure!